How to delete your WhatsApp account?

Whether it is the desire to disconnect, the fear of viruses, or to save the battery of your phone, the reasons for wanting to leave WhatsApp are numerous. In this tutorial, we will see together how to delete your WhatsApp account.

WhatsApp is one of the most popular instant messaging services in the world, with nearly 1.5 billion users. The application has for some time had a client for PC and MAC , and also a brand new dark mode . However, despite these regular improvements and additions, WhatsApp also remains one of the vulnerable applications.

Security breaches and attacks are recurrent, and examples are not lacking unfortunately. Despite all these qualities, WhatsApp is therefore not perfect, and whether for security or for some other reason, you may want to quit the instant messaging application permanently. Here’s the process.

Delete your WhatsApp account in 3 steps

Unlike Spotify , it is possible to close your WhatsApp account easily from the mobile application:

  1. Open the WhatsApp application on mobile and go to Settings , at the top right of the screen
  2. Go to Account > Delete my account
  3. Then follow the instructions on the screen to confirm the deletion of your account.

Please note, this operation is irreversible. Once your account deletion has been confirmed , you will no longer be able to retrieve your conversation history . If essential / personal / confidential information is there, we advise you to make a backup of your files before saying goodbye to WhatsApp .

How to save WhatsApp messages

To save your WhatsApp messages, you will also need to go to Settings> Discussions> Backup. Note that you can also export your discussions. Just open the conversation you want to record, and press the three small dots > Info or Group info > Send the discussion by e-mail .

Another clarification, you will not be able to recover your account if you decide to return one day to the application. WhatsApp also specifies that copies of certain documents such as log reports can remain in their database, while being dissociated from personal identifiers.

Last important detail, WhatsApp undertakes that your personal information shared with other services belonging to Facebook will also be deleted . They are generally deleted from the servers within 90 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.